Little Swimmers

by walksoftly

IMG_0610

For some reason, Fireball likes to take his toy mice for a swim — no other toys, just the “shakey” mice.  I’m not sure if he’s trying to wash Mac’s saliva off the fake fur, or if he just forgets it’s in his mouth as he dashes by the water bowl and suddenly stops for a drink.  I even hear him dunking it in the water some times, hitting it with his paws to make sure it’s well washed.  I will occasionally find a brightly colored toy floating in the water that he has forgotten to retrieve. It goes without saying that the toy doesn’t fare too well after a prolonged swim.  Even more amusing, he’ll occasionally jump in bed with me in the early morning hours with his just-washed mouse.  If I happen to be lying on my side, he’ll come up and tuck the soggy thing under my shoulder, then jump to my other side for a cuddle.  Not sure if he’s offering me his freshly caught and washed prey, or if he’s trying to keep it out of Mac’s mits while he snuggles for a bit.  When he’s done with his visit, he goes back to my shoulder and retrieves his prize and off he runs again.

(c) Copyright 2014, PeggyMalnati. All rights reserved. Photos my own.

