For Whom the Bell Tolls

by walksoftly

IMG_0205

At the top of my stairs to the second floor I have a lovely and substantial newel post that supports the banisters on both levels.  It just so happens that above this newel post hangs a set of wind chimes, which musically move in the breeze when warmer weather arrives and allows the nearby windows to be opened.  My banisters are covered with blankets that hang down for decoration. Being practical as well as green, I often hang slightly damp clothes and bedding there to finish drying after I bring them in from the outdoors clothesline.  None of my previous cats gave the newel post or the banisters any attention, but Fireball and Macaroni find them quite interesting places to explore.

One night, 4 or 5 months after the kitties came to live with me, as I was reading the news before sleep, I couldn’t believe my ears:  I could hear bells ringing.  I bolted up to see what was happening and found Mac on top of the newel post banging away on the wind chimes.  (Mac is always first to get into mischief and try brave new things.)  She continued her bell ringing nightly and in the early morning hours for several weeks, then the novelty seemed to wear off.  Not long after, the baby comet got into the action and started sharing his own musical repertoire. One morning I managed to catch him in action.

Do you know for whom the bell tolls?  Ah, yes, it tolls for me.  Get up, lazy human, it’s snack time and we want to play!

(c) Copyright 2014, PeggyMalnati. All rights reserved. Photos my own.

