Changing Techniques

by walksoftly

IMG_0332

Actually, I was slightly inaccurate in my assessment that using so many different kinds and shapes and sizes and locations of water bowls had done nothing to change the Mermaid’s behavior.  She actually is doing one thing differently these days.

Rather than sit beside the bowl and dip a paw into the fluid, then sip water off her cupped digits, little Nessie is now crouching down (almost like a normal cat) and drinking water straight from the bowl.

However, unlike a normal cat, while she’s sipping water, she always has one forepaw and then the other reaching around under the sides of the bowl grasping at the air.  I wish I had a picture to show you.

What is she trying to reach?  Would she do this if I could figure out how to sink a water bowl into my floor? Heaven only knows.

So much for all the advice from all the cat experts.  Why does she do it?  I think the real answer is that she does it to annoy the human.  From a cat’s perspective, that may well be a very noble cause.

(c) Copyright 2014, PeggyMalnati. All rights reserved. Photo my own.

