Venus Fly Trap Kitty

by walksoftly

IMG_0531In nature, there are warning signs of danger.  For example, the Black Widow spider sports a red hour-glass mark on her abdomen — a reminder for those in the know about her venomous bite.  Macaroni has a white hour-glass pattern on her tummy and when that pretty mark is showing, there is danger too for hands and fingers that stray into her tummy parts for a pet.

Actually, I think of her more as a Venus Fly Trap than a Black Widow spider.  She flips onto my bed with a flourish at night, then hops into the kitty bed closest to my head and torso. She then proceeds to chase her tail, spinning around and around like a young kitten while I try to read.  When she tires of that, she flips upside down and shows her tummy.  She will lay spread-eagle on her back for 20 minutes or more. However, let a human hand come in to pet her pink toes or her soft tummy and pow, the Venus Fly Trap closes around the unsuspecting meal with claws and teeth.  It’s not a pretty picture as my poor hands will attest.

 

 

(c) Copyright 2014, PeggyMalnati. All rights reserved. Photos my own.

