Something’s Wrong with this Picture; Can You Tell what it is?

by walksoftly

IMG_2031Alas, the unseasonably cold weather has prompted me to grudgingly move my houseplants back inside almost a month earlier than usual.  Of course, my furry friends think this is a great thing, even though it means their kitty condo gets moved away from the window in the stove room where they’ve had easy watching of all the fauna that has entered the deck on that side of their yard.

All summer long, under the sun and rain, the spider plants (Chlorophytum comosum) have been busy regrowing their leaves and plantlets (spider babies). And now they are inside and their leaves are there for the eating.  The organic wheat grass I buy the cats each week and the fresh catnip I bring in from outdoors hold no attraction like the spider plants this time of year.  Soon, the spiders will be significantly trimmed and free of all their spider babies.  Fortunately, this plant is not poisonous and does seem to help with digestion.  I also was surprised to learn that its leaves contain a natural opiate that is mildly hallucinogenic (albeit not harmful) to cats. No wonder they prefer its leaves to wheat grass.

IMG_2033

Oops, the Big Guy is busted!  At the sound of my voice, he hightails it out of the ficus pot.  Note the little ones looking on from a distance.

 

(c) Copyright 2014, PeggyMalnati. All rights reserved. Photos my own.

 

 

