Candy Crush

by walksoftly

IMG_2470

You know, when the Duo first arrived, my biggest worry was that the Merkitty was going to teach Corky and Pepe to eat with their feet and I’d have even more mess beside kitty dinner plates than I did already.  However, nearly 2 months on, I realize that what I really should have been worried about is Pepe teaching the Trio how to get up on the table and counters and steal whatever looks interesting.  Here’s a case in point.

The other day I came home from running errands. I’d stopped and gotten some take out Thai food. At this restaurant, they give you a little guava-flavored hard candy with your meal that’s packaged in a bright green Mylar (metallized plastic film) wrapper, which is both shiny and crackly sounding when moved.  I put the candy on the kitchen table along with other items and started putting things away. I stepped out of the room for less than 5 minutes and when I came back in, I heard the sound of my after-dinner candy being knocked around the floor by Pepe, who clearly had jumped up on the table to investigate and run off with a prize.  All that evening and most of the next day, that candy was dragged upstairs and down and banged into every surface available by Pepe, who clearly was getting his jollies by chasing this crackly prize around the house.  (Mind you, we have several crackly Mylar toys in the kitty toy boxes that get no love at all. Obviously, to be enjoyable, the toy must be both crackly and stolen.)

Finally, on day 3, I found that the wrapper had given up the candy, which was lying several feet away with a chunk broken off. Wrapper alone without candy = not interesting.  Candy alone without wrapper = not interesting.  The human has since disposed of both items.  I am sure this is not the end of the thieving!

 

(c) Copyright 2015, PeggyMalnati. All rights reserved. Photos my own.

